Tranquillizers for Kids – ADHD, It’s Not Easy – Right or Wrong?

 

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is a group of behavioral symptoms that include inattentiveness, hyperactivity and impulsiveness.

Common symptoms of ADHD include:

  • a short attention span or being easily distracted
  • restlessness, constant fidgeting or over activity
  • being impulsive

The news: Washington | The FDA announced this morning it gave its approval for the marketing release of their new anesthetic dart guns, specifically designed to calm children suffering from ADHD.

The new product is capable of putting a child to sleep in less than 4 seconds and reportedly has no serious long-term effects on the health of children.

The manufacturer advises, however, not to use the gun more than 1 to 2 times daily on the same child in order to prevent the development of a physical addiction to the product.

Why am I talking about it? For a very simple reason that once I came across a child who was suffering from ADHD. We were in Santo Domingo for a year because of my husband’s job and I joined a school as an English teacher to keep myself busy. I was teaching Grade 3.

There was this one particular child in my class who was the most difficult to manage. He would not sit in one place, he would never ever concentrate, he would simply ignore everything I would say and even when he sat quietly he seemed to be lost in his thoughts. Initially I tried a lot to make him comfortable but he did not care at all. Quite naturally, I was irritated with him, honestly I did not like him at all.

Once I was busy teaching when Nifel got up and started roaming around in the class. He went from one seat to another disturbing everyone. I went to hi and as soon as I put my hand on his shoulder, he scratched me and the next thing I know was that he pushed me as if he was trying to save himself. But I had just put my hand gently on his shoulder. It was so disturbing for me that I had tears in my eyes. I went to the Elementary school Principal’s room and told her that I can’t take it anymore. This was the time she disclosed that Nifel had ADHD. I was taken aback. I knew what ADHD was but wasn’t really that informed. So, I googled, I read all night about it. I don’t even remember when and how but I was crying. That little boy was having a very hard time. It wasn’t under his control. I felt sorry for writing all those notes to his mother complaining about his conduct. Finally, I read what I can do as a teacher to help Nifel….

I started being even more patient to him, started appreciating him for even slight improvement. It wasn’t easy in the beginning because his hyperactivity was not under his control sometimes. He was under medication. But this surely helped. He was always interested to do something in class because he liked being appreciated. I tried involving him as much as possible. We used to have Talent Hunt in class, he would dance and sing and even acted as a radio jockey.

Today when I read this news, I was being judgmental. What kind of parents would use a tranquillizer gun on their kids. Can’t they control little kids? Or are they that lazy? As I was having all this non sense going on in my mind, Nifel came to my mind, his mother came to my mind, if it was that difficult for me to handle him for an hour, how his mother would be doing 24×7. Yet, she was always smiling, never ever gave ADHD as an excuse for his actions. This tranquillizer is meant for extreme situations. Kids with ADHD sometimes get violent, so violent that they can hurt themselves or people around them.

I do not support the use of a drug to manage a child but then I cannot judge a parent for using it for their child suffering from ADHD, because it is not easy, it is not easy for the child it is even more difficult for the parent. I wish no parent ever needs to use it.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

