Why I Love My Toddler Even More Every Day

The other day I took my 3 old daughter to the park. My next door neighbour was also there with her little one. My daughter was playing with her,no not with the little girl but with her mom. She kept  chanting “Aunty Aunty”.. When we started going down, my daughter refused to hold my hand. She held her ‘Aunty’s’ hand, whom she had met only thrice till now, since we recently shifted here. We went upstairs and my daughter did not want to come with me, she went to aunty’s house.  I had to bring her back after almost an hour, since it was too late . She kept crying for half an hour, ‘Aunty ke pass jana hai’.(I want to go to aunty).  I can’t tell you, how I felt. She has met that person only thrice and she does not want to be with me. I was heartbroken, angry and extremely sad..

I pamper her, buy her gifts for her, sing songs to her, all theseapart from my regular mom duties. I do a lot of things for her and she did this to me. Toddlers are like this. After crying for half an hour for aunty, she finally slept in my arms. I was so upset that I put her on the bed and lay down next to her. I cried a little as I felt as if I was rejected by my own baby. And then she plays the trump card; even in her deep sleep, she puts her head on my arms, moves her face close to my chest and has a faint smile on her lips. That is how these toddlers play with us. God! I love my toddler so much although I know she is a clever manipulator and the cutest jerk ever.

There are a few things that make us love our toddlers so much, even when they are stubborn and arrogant:

  1. Only they can look so charming even when they are at their worst. Whenever I scold my daughter, she goes and lies down on the bed. She would cry like a heroine, or she would stand in front of the mirror, howling and crying and she keeps checking herself in the mirror too. I am not sure whether I should laugh, smile or scold her. c
  2. NO matter how clever they think they are, they are foolish.I mean I can fool my daughter, almost every day when she says she does not want to go to the park or to the school or to any place that I want to take her.I just tell her that there will be Pete (Disney character) there and she always gets . A small candy that I magically take out from her nose is enough to make her forget why she was crying .     giphy (1).gif
  3. They Forgive and Forget:There have been instances when I have shouted, on my three year old toddler, or when I have not given her what she wanted. I have not paid attention to her tantrums but she just forgets everything so soon. She starts playing and then comes over to me and hugs me and says she loves me.
  4. Even the smallest of things can make them happy. I have learnt this trick, even when I buy a basic pair of socks for my little one, I gift wrap it. She gets so enthusiastic and happy about the gift and a simple pair of socks can make her happy beyond limits. Once she was crying for no reason so I gift wrapped my hair pin and gave it to her, Haha they are not very smart, are they? She kept hugging and thanking me for the pin.
  5. They think you can do everything:We were watching Bahubali 2 and when the hero was being beaten up by the villain my little one said, ‘Koi baat nahi, isko papa bachaa lenge’ (no problem, Dad will save him) and there her dad was, smiling, sitting on his bean bag, dressed up in PJs and a vest. He looked so proud of himself. IMG_20170203_205353
  6. They definitely teach us perseverance:Do they ever give up? No. Have you seen them while throwing tantrums or asking for stuff or when they simply believe in something? They just don’t give up on things they want or they on the things they believe in, no matter how much trouble it causes us 😉
  7. They still think they are as little as a few month old baby.They want to cuddle a lot, they still want you to rock them in your arms which by the way is not so easy as they don’t fit in your arms anymore. 😛 But then they sleep close to you, resting their heads on your chest as if they still want to hear your heartbeat to go back to sleep. Don’t tell me you don’t love them, because I know you do.

1423379368615

I would so love to know more reasons, as to why we love our toddlers so much. Feel free to share more, to inspire me, or to remind these points to myself when my toddler drives me crazy the next time. Oh! I need them right now 😛

One comment

Leave a Reply

